Social Gaming~

So to start off, I had no clue what Social Gaming was. Actually this was very important because as I looked at our infografic things were not getting clearer. The stats were clear and colorful, but I am highly skeptical about the statistics provided, it reminded me of a friend saying something like “96% of all statistics are made up on the spot”. Or maybe I am just a glass half empty kind of gal, but I would trust Wiki over something like this. And that was a mistake as well, as you can see the definition could apply from anything from playing cards with your family to farmVille. Wiki explains (badly) that any game that you are actually connected either phone or in person or over the internet, and basically that is anything except solitarte alone at your house, but lets be honest, who could even do that without looking up how many cards in each pile? Too wide a range? I think so. I think that my definition of Social Gaming is that where the goal of the game, goes from playing, and shifts to that of a social goal rather than a gaming. As the title suggests Social comes before Gaming and therefore suggests to me that the social craving of the users. My definitions of Social Gaming therefore will be that the goal of the gamer is that of socializing over gaming. In modern contexts too this only applies to a person who is alone, and through a network or the internet makes social connections with others VIA the games. 

The section that I am going to analyze is the Income and employment. The swanky 40’s tinted text and little pictures are cute and the bar-style chart with the enlarged percentages are cool, but again i get the nagging sense of doubt in the overly-catchy colors and style that the facts are hidden too deep and hard to track. Also my personal feelings about the matter may disagree with the statistics, I am imagining a social gamer as someone who is connected with other users like in a game like WOW, where the players in my mind live in a dungeon like room, with left over delivery foods everywhere. I imagine them living in their parents basements in their late 30’s and having no income at all. Blame the media, but I cannot accept these numbers, and such a broad category.

2 thoughts on “Social Gaming~

  1. I get a sense of two things in reading this. One is that you are skeptical of the numbers presented in the graph. The other is that you didn’t have a working definition of the meaning of Social Gaming to begin with and the infographic didn’t provide one for you.

    Further you checked Wikipedia (and gave us a link to the page) and you weren’t satisfied with their definition.

    I suppose I’d like to know a couple of more things. First, in your research were you able to either confirm or refute any of the numbers given in the infographic?

    And how did wikipedia define Social Gaming (most people don’t bother to click the links)? Further, have you been able to form your own definition of the term yet? If so, what is it?

  2. I get what you’re saying about it being a broad category and not exactly trusting the numbers. Specifically in regards to income and employment (the section of the infographic you chose for analysis), what was your impression? Which of these stats do you find particularly hard to believe?

    And I agree, social gaming is a broad category. Coming from the industry, usually when people talk about social gaming they have a tendency to compare it against “traditional” gaming. Think Facebook & iPhone games versus WoW. But these are all *social* games. It’s perhaps more accurate to call them “social *media* games.”

Leave a Reply

